California Guard Card
All public safety personnel, including off duty police officers, and executive protection agents, are required by law to carry and maintain a guard card.
This is the California State required class required before any person can work a security guard post. This includes off duty law enforcement officers, both federal and state. This course will teach students the skills necessary to apply for a guard card with the Department of Consumer Affairs - Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS).
This class also satisfies the annual 8 hour refresher course required 6 months after issue of new card. Proof of identity will be required (passport or driver license).
Course fee is $65.00
Mandatory Skill and Training for security guards (AB 2880)
-Module B course (must be completed within 30 days of card issuance)
Fee is $125
-Module C course (must be completed within 6 months of card issuance)
Fee is $125
Note: Every newly licensed or employed security guard shall complete two of the mandatory courses within thirty (30) days from the day the guard's registration card is issued (8 hours) or the day the guard begins employment. The remaining two mandatory courses each consisting of four (4) hours of instruction, shall be completed within the first six (6) months from the day the guard registration card is issued or the day the guard begins employment as a security guard.
A certificate will be issued upon completion of the modules.
FIREARMS PERMIT- This course is a mandatorytraining class to apply for the Exposed Firearm Permit through the State of California Department of Consumer Affairs Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS). Must be 18 years old with a current BSIS Security Guard Card. If you do not possess a current BSIS Security Guard Card you may apply for the Security Guard Card and Exposed Firearm Permit at the same time. Proof of US Citizenship or permanent residency. Must bring original document and provide a copy. No felony or prohibitive misdemeanor convictions. Classroom training must be taken within 30 days of the firearm qualification day.
Classroom trainings are held all week. Weekends or evening training by appointment only.
Course fee is $150 (Initial qualification & primary caliber on application); any additional caliber is $20 each (ammunition costs range fee and applicable BSIS application & Live Scan fees)
1st Day - Classroom Training (must be taken 30 days prior to firearm qualification day)
Firearm Qualification (held on scheduled Fridays, check course calendar)
Students must bring the following range equipment required:
Eyes & ear protection; firearm (revolver or semi-automatic); 2 speed loaders or 2 magazines; firearm & magazine holster; 100 rounds of ammunition for the initial qualifying caliber; 50 rounds for each additional caliber(s). Only approved firearms will be allowed at the range. Firearms will be inspected by the range master.
Firearm Bi-annual re-qualification (Range shooting only)
Appointments are required and must have current guard card and firearms permit.
Fee: $50 first caliber and $20 each additional caliber (does not include ammo or range fee)
Firearm permit renewal (written test and qualification)
Fee: $75 for first caliber and $20 each additional caliber (does not include BSIS fees)
SCHOOL SECURITY -This is a 24-hour training course which meets and exceeds California Department of Consumer Affairs - Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS) and California Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) requirements for security guards working at school and college districts. This course meets the training requirements mandated by SB 1626 for Campus Security Personnel as defined in Education Code 38001.5 and 72330.5 and Business and Professions Code 7583.31.
TASER CERTIFICATION- course is a 5 hour class which certifies an officer to carry and deploy a Taser in the performance of his or her duties. This class is taught by law enforcement POST certified instructors and defensive tactics experts.
Fee: $175 per student
$25 for each training cartridge (one required).
Note: Students DO NOT have to be "Tased" to qualify for certification.
CHEMICAL AGENTS -This is a 4-hour Oleoresin Capsicum Aerosol Training (OCAT) Basic Course. All students will learn and demonstrate all techniques required to be certified. To become certified, students must obtain an acceptable rating when demonstrating their proficiency in executing the techniques taught in the course. A written examination will be given in which students must demonstrate level of proficiency in certain areas taught in the basic course by obtaining an acceptable rating on this exam.
This certification is limited to law enforcement, public safety, corrections, security, protective services, environmental protection, military, state and federal officers.
Course fee is $65 (pepper spray not included). This course is held by appointments only.A certificate of completion will be issued upon successful completion of the course. Certification length is 2 (two) years from the date of completion
HANDCUFFING- This 2-3 hour course is designed teach students how to properly handcuff a suspect in an arrest situation. Students will learn handcuff nomenclature and proper procedure in handcuffing and must demonstrate the required handcuffing techniques to successfully pass the course.
Fee: $50 Held by appointment only and has class minimums.
A certificate of completion will be issued upon completion of the course.
CPR/FIRST AID/AED-This course certifies a student for the American Red Cross first responder certifications. The class is taught by law enforcement personnel (EMT) with experience in critical incident first responder procedures.